When you miss wine, you make wine markers

December 17, 2010 § 4 Comments

Our Girl’s Night gift exchange is right around the corner, and I’ve been putting together a cute little basket–trying to squeeze as much creativity out of $20 as humanly possible.  So I was pleased as Pinot when Sew4Home featured this coaster tutorial a week or so ago.  Believe me, the torturous aspect of stitching stemware coasters while six months pregnant was not lost on me.

I enjoyed this project because a) it offered up almost instant gratification (under two hours for a sewing project counts as instant in my book), b) I got to use scraps of some lovely fabric that I haven’t been able to part with, and c) I really enjoy crafting for others.  I had previously made some cute green polka-dotted hot pads to add to the gift basket; being a sucker for green cotton, I found a number of great little scraps to create a fun assortment of coasters to match.  Hooray for the scrap jar!

Lessons learned: stitching in a circle requires patience; a CD face is a great template for these kinds of projects; and I really do miss wine (c’mon April!).  So, here they are–I think they turned out pretty cute.

A quick little tulle bow, and they were safely tucked away into the gift basket.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to When you miss wine, you make wine markers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When you miss wine, you make wine markers at sugarandstitch.

meta

