Nothing says holiday baking like pot holders

December 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Remember those cute green pot holders I mentioned over here?  Well, they were one of two sets of pot holders that I made this year for holiday gift giving.

For my aunts, I’ve started doing handmade Christmas gifts the last couple of years–you know, holidays from the heart and all.  After much reading around, I settled on pot holders for Aunt Kimberly.  Her kitchen is all cute red and white, and I just happened to have some fun red and white fat quarters that were begging to be transformed.

Over at A Pretty Cool Life, they had a fantastic pot holder tutorial–it was really easy to follow.  Great photos, nicely organized instructions, and I liked that certain parts were simplified from techniques I had seen at other places.

Lessons learned: I don’t have the patience for the full 12 lines of quilting, but I think that the three lines turned out cute enough.  Next time, I think that I’ll either double the batting, or go with a thicker kind–these should not be used to pull anything super hot from the oven, but they sure are cute to look at.

A gourmet brownie mix, a cute ivory bowl, a nice wooden spoon, and this was all ready for the tree.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nothing says holiday baking like pot holders at sugarandstitch.

meta

