December calls for flannel

December 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

Holidays from the heart for Aunt Peggy followed a comfort theme inspired by flannel pillowcases.

I ventured into Joann’s to tackle a little black panel project for our new console table (who wants to see my ugly black cords?) when I stumbled into the flannel department and instantly wanted to make flannel bedding.  With many a project on the list, I settled on just a couple of sets of pillow cases instead.

Sew4Home came through again, and I found a tutorial that had these stitched up in just a few hours one afternoon.

Lessons learned: Instead of following steps 4 and 6, I opted to turn the pillowcases inside out after I had the two parts pinned in place and instead topstitched the border to the body of the pillowcase.  I followed the instructions the first time, but after failing to catch the border in a couple of places, I opted for the fail proof method on the second one.

These found their way into a basket with cider, making for a cozy winter evening treat.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading December calls for flannel at sugarandstitch.

meta

