Four and twenty apples

December 26, 2010 § 1 Comment

Dear reader, I have a confession–I cannot make a pie crust.  I can make a dough that follows a pie crust recipe and hobble it into a pie plate and flute the edges to try to fool you into thinking that it will taste good, but you will not be fooled.  Alas, this is a magic touch that I have not mastered; but my mom can reproduce it on command from memory, shortening, and flour.  This in mind, I cannot tell you how to make the beautiful crust featured here, but I will tell you what I did to fill it, bake it, and serve it for a great apple pie that I took to McKenzie family Christmas this year.

  • 8 apples (I used 2 each of 4 varieties–just be sure that they’re firm)
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1-2 teaspoons of cloves (some people prefer less, I like mine with a bite, so I go for the full 2)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg & 1-2 tablespoons of gingerbread flavored creamer (This is your egg wash to use just before baking.)

Thinly slice your apples–I use a contraption from pampered chef so this goes pretty quick.  You just need to core and peel them as well.  (Confession number two–my dad actually did this for me.)

Whisk the cornstarch into the orange juice and pour over the apples.  Toss the apples with the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves.

Place your pie crust into a greased pie pan. (If you want, you can go ahead and place some aluminum foil over this and bake it for about 9-10 minutes to let it firm up before filling.  I didn’t this go around.)

Fill the pie crust with the apples and place pats of butter on the apples.  Vent the top pie crust by cutting small slits in the top.  (You could also make decorative vents if you wanted to with cookie cutters of your choice–I would just keep them small.)  Place the top crust over the apples and pinch the edges together to your liking.  I like the traditional pinch, but you could use a fork for a flatter edge or cut out shapes from excess pie crust to line the rim with.

Whisk your egg with the flavored creamer and use a brush to apply to the top of your pie crust and around the edges.  This will help your crust brown up and add a nice little something to the crust.  Sprinkle the top with granulated sugar as desired.  (I would generally use sugar in the raw for this step, but alas, the pantry was out!)

Bake for 45 minutes to an hour.  Monitor crust for preferred shade of brown.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Four and twenty apples

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Four and twenty apples at sugarandstitch.

meta

