Another slice before the New Year: Southern Chess Pie

December 29, 2010 § 1 Comment

Before we all go diving into resolutions, I’ll share one last pie tale from the holidays.  This is the story of the Southern Chess Pie that my my mom and I have been making since I was a little girl.  The recipe is from my grandmother Claudia; not sure where it originated before that.  Funny enough, when I originally received the recipe from my grandmother, it was actually just a list of ingredients–guess she figured I could work out the rest! I had Mom fill in the rest of the card a few years ago.  (Isn’t that little holder cute?  My friends over at We Are 1976 were selling them last year–super handy!)

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons  milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup pecans

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  You’ll need one pie crust for a 9 inch pan, but remember what I said over here, I can’t help you there.  Be sure to spray down your pie pan before you place your crust–go ahead and flute the edges of your crust once it’s placed. 

In a medium sauce pan on the stove over medium heat, melt your butter.  Add the brown and granulated sugars and flour to the butter and whisk.  In a separate small bowl, whisk your eggs with the milk and vanilla until combined–you just want to whisk it until everything is incorporated.  Add the egg mixture to the butter and sugar mixture in your sauce pan.  You don’t have to whisk constantly, but you do have to whisk regularly and keep an eye on the filling.  While whisking, bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for a few minutes until all is thoroughly combined and you have a nice carmel brown mixture with a good consistency for the filling.  Pour pie filling into crust.  

Take  1/2 a cup of the pecans and crush them until they’re pea size.  You can do this with a chopper, or with a trusty rolling pin and a plastic sandwich bag.  Spread the crushed pecans onto the top of the pie filling.  Use the remaining pecan halves to decorate as you like.  This is my favorite part. 

Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes.  You can test this pie with a toothpick–if it comes out clean, it’s done!

Happy baking.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Another slice before the New Year: Southern Chess Pie

  • Aunt Debra says:

    I have this pie in the oven right now! I (as your Mom’s sister) also have pie crust committed to memory. Growing up with your Grandpa Dugan, where you had to have ‘something sweet’ after supper, pie was consumed several times a week! If it tastes anything like it smells, it will be wonderful. I love what you’re doing here.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another slice before the New Year: Southern Chess Pie at sugarandstitch.

meta

