Baby quilt, check

January 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

One project down.  BabyMac now has a quilt for his crib–whew! 

Finding bedding for boys is hard.  I had not intended to make his bedding, but after looking around, I just wasn’t really excited about anything that I found.  I’m not hating on the whole brown and baby blue craze out there, but if that’s not your thing, well, good luck. 

But, what I did love were these fabrics from my favorite City Craft.  I’m horrible and can’t remember all the amazing designers who made these, but I found the quilt pattern in a fantastic walkthrough over at Moda Bake Shop

Lessons learned: I think I finally got this corner thing down!  I found this really easy tutorial on You Tube from Eleanor Burns of Quilt in a Day–hallelujah!  The corners turned out nice and crisp.  Thank you, Ms. Burns!  Also, I think that I might be sending back the Christmas gift that I was super excited about.  The husband gave me a Simplicity Bias Tape Maker, which received tons of great reviews.  My review: wah-wah-wah.  I had to unjam the thing at least eight times, the binding wasn’t consistently even, and I can’t repeat the words that were muttered when I tried to thread the material into the tip.  Note to self, any machine that tells you to get out a pair of tweezers as part of the directions is probably not for me.  Lesson number three is it’s okay to go off book.  While I loved the front of this quilt, I wasn’t super excited about the back, so instead I pieced together some fun blocks of all different patterns for the back, sticking with squares and rectangles, and I’m really happy with how it turned out.  And, I wanted to add a little more visual interest, so I quilted each section of the front a little differently.  Much more adventurous than normal, and I think it paid off. 

Okay, on to bumpers…. 

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Baby quilt, check

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby quilt, check at sugarandstitch.

meta

