Reversible oilcloth bib

January 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve never worked with oilcloth, but my friend’s upcoming baby shower is the perfect excuse to try it out.

I picked out a cute oilcloth, and a fun pink for the back, then I used a bib that I had to trace a pattern with disappearing ink onto both fabrics and cut out the two sides.

With wrong-sides facing each other, I stitched around the outside with a 1/8 inch seam allowance.  Go slow, there are a lot of little curves to this one.

I used single-fold bias tape in a complimentary color to go around the outer edge.  You’ll need to adjust the yardage you need depending on the size bib you’re making.  I used about a yard, but this one was a smaller bib.

I pinned the bias tape to the outer edge, and then I stitched along the fold line of the tape closest to the edge.  I folded the tape over and stitched it under with a 1/4 inch seam allowance from the back around the entire thing.  Again, you’ll need to exert some patience during this step.  I have a cute little snap to apply to the back of the collar to join the two sides together.

Lessons learned:  Take note of the type of bias tape you’re using.  I may have applied mine incorrectly for the first half of the bib, and then used up all the swear words I know ripping the stitch so I could go back and apply it correctly.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reversible oilcloth bib at sugarandstitch.

meta

