Easy burp cloths

January 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

When I first started sewing, this is one of the first projects I undertook.  Not this one exactly–these I did over the weekend to go with the cute bib over here–but this little pattern that I just kind of made up as I went.

These cute burp cloths use Gerber cloth diapers for the base, and then you just add a panel of cute fabric down the middle.  I did this two different ways over the weekend.

Lessons learned:  Before you dive in, just give the diaper a good press with your iron to get out all of the wrinkles.  I’ve found that these diapers are each a little different in size, some being as much as 1/2 to 1 inch shorter than others in the same pack.  And, you’ll notice that the center panel isn’t stitched evenly down the center on most–what could start out as 4 1/2 inches wide at the top, is 5 inches wide at the bottom.  So, what I’m saying here is that I’m giving you approximate measurements, but you’ll need to be flexible when making these yourself and improvise depending on what you pull out of the bag.

The first one I made this weekend, I wanted to give a quilted look.  I cut six panels, each measuring 5 inches wide x 4 1/2 inches tall.  I cut three each of two different fabrics.  Take two squares, right sides facing together, stitch the two together with a 1/4 inch seam allowance.  Continue to add squares together in this manner, until all six squares are connected in a row.  This left me with a 24 inch panel.  Press the seams open.  (My burp cloth was 20 inches long.)

With a hot iron, press the long sides of the panel 1/2 inch under on each side.  On each short side, I pressed the ends under about 1 1/2 inches (as I mentioned, you just have to play with this to match your cloth length).  Pin the panel to the burp cloth’s center thickest panel.  Your panel can stick slightly (1/16 – 1/8 inch) over the ends of the cloth.  I then edgestitched around the entire panel, trying to keep about 1/16 inch to the inside of the panel.  You’ll notice that your fabric has much more give than the burp cloth, so pins are a must. For this one, I went back and stitched in the ditch along each panel’s seam to give it an added reinforcement.

You can also try what I did what on the second one, which is much easier–just cut a panel of fabric that’s 1/2 in bigger on all sides.  Press the 1/2 inch seam under on all sides of the fabric, and proceed to pin it to the center panel of the diaper.  Edgestitch around the entire panel, keeping your seam about 1/16 inch to the inside of the panel.  Done!

The biggest lesson here is that this is a great creative project–once you know how big your panel needs to be, you can play with all different ways to create these and even choose to go around the edges with bias tape, or add a little ribbon or rick rack to the bottom.  Sky’s the limit.  Paired with the cute reversible bib, these came together for the beginnings of a cute shower gift in just a few hours.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Easy burp cloths

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easy burp cloths at sugarandstitch.

meta

