Artwork, check

January 21, 2011 § 8 Comments

Ladies and gentlemen, introducing, progress.  We now have a crib, a quilt, two good sized pieces of artwork, two of the six bumpers, and a fun pillow for the nursery.  I’m really starting to feel like it’s coming together!

The cute little pillow I stitched out of fabrics from the lovely Heather Ross line Far Far Away II.  I used this pattern at Sew4Home, and loved how it came out.  Of course, the fabric came from City Craft–my vice.

The cute Aquatic Cowboy has been the source of some stress, and I’m very glad that he rode his way into the nursery this week.  Joann’s called last week to tell me that they somehow managed to misplace the print and couldn’t find him anywhere.  I was completely relieved when a sweet girl called to tell me both of my prints were ready to pick up.  He’s so darling–maybe my favorite piece in the room.

And, I love the Petit Collage alphabet print, too.  This was actually the first piece Mom bought for the nursery when we visited one of my favorite Dallas shops, We Are 1976.  Vynsie and the crew keep so many great things stocked, and this one set the mood for Baby Mac’s room.

Of course, I told you about the quilt over here.  And, I’ll tell you about the bumpers when they’re completed.  For now, it’s just the swatch of cute plaid you see in the corner up there.

Lessons learned:  Don’t be in a hurry and look around.  There are so many great things out there that are just at your fingertips.  I’m really glad that I decided to just go with a color scheme instead of a “theme”–it’s given me the freedom to find unique pieces that are handcrafted and match them to great fabrics, letting me add in a bit of my own creativity to make a room I think I’ll be really proud of.  Now, to find a rocker.

Tagged:

§ 8 Responses to Artwork, check

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Artwork, check at sugarandstitch.

meta

