Blue felt booties

January 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

Today’s project was a pair of cute baby booties.  I’ve seen some great tutorials out there for similar things, like the cute ones from Heather Bailey that are still on my to-do list, these Martha staples, and the fun ones over at Sew, Mama, Sew! With a non-working, printer-shaped paper weight, I have put this one off because I knew I would need a template.  This Simplicity pattern on the clearance rack at Walmart pushed the project to the top of the list today.

I started by applying a scroll embellishment to the top of the shoe in white–I wanted some contrast, and clearly Baby Mac would probably not appreciate the floral stitching shown in the pattern.

The only complaint I have about this pattern is step three–the instruction made no more sense the fourth time I read it than it did the first.  I ended up guessing and just stitching a line across the back to form the heel, pinching together the opening and centering it to the back seam.

Lessons learned: Poking holes in felt is a bit of a challenge, and really small sewing scissors are a must for this project.  I added the buttons to give them an extra touch and was pleased overall with how they came out. 

Okay, back to bumpers.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Blue felt booties

  • E.C. says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog very much. It’s instructive, fun and entertaining. Keep up the great work! 🙂

  • Mom says:

    Booties are adorable…I’ve been visiting Memory Lane as we approach this time in our lives of welcoming Little Mac…Lots of pictures show you with cookie cutters, flour on your nose, coveralls made especially for you by DAD, not mom, and reading books to all of your stuffed animals!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blue felt booties at sugarandstitch.

meta

