Crib bumpers, check

February 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

They’re done!  They’re done!  Praise the Lord.  What started out with innocently reading a few tutorials and a trip to the fabric store, turned into the two-month project.  I give you, crib bumpers.  Or rather, I give them to King Baby, as he’s being called these days.

So the deal is that I didn’t really like any of the bedding I was seeing at stores, and I’ve already told you that the blue/brown craze isn’t for me, so when I saw the Sew4Home tutorial, I thought, “Oh, this doesn’t look too hard.”  And, really, it wasn’t.  If a crib only needed one or maybe two bumpers, this would have been a snap.  But getting from two, then to four, then finishing the final fifth and sixth bumpers was kind of a stretch.  Some would have hunkered down and churned ’em out in a weekend, but I found myself distracted after a couple of hours, so this took me much longer than I thought it would.

But, and this is a big but, I’m kind of in love with them.  I adore these fabrics–which, you’ll be impressed to know I actually have the names of now.  City Weekend Tree Top Yellow Gold, from Moda, is the cute blue, yellow, red leaf pattern that makes up the cording, the ties, and I used it on the binding for the quilt.  The plaid and the dots are both from Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow Collection in the Sunny Day Palette.  The dots are Acorn Chain Pond and the plaid is Picnic Plaid Sunglow–even the names sound happy.

Lessons learned:  Even if a tutorial looks easy, you must consider how many of each you will need.  For example, I hate making those little tubes that you have to turn inside out to form the ties.  I cheated and did these a little differently once I realized that I would have to make and turn 24 of those annoying finger-trap pieces.  Not. Happening.  Also–it’s okay to trim.  I realized that my bumpers were all slightly larger than the finished size of my sewn covers.  I just trimmed the batting on either side by 1/4 inch–it wasn’t a product of the covers being sewn incorrectly, the bumper filling just had to be trimmed to fit in them snugly without looking cramped.  Lastly, I learned how to make cording, and how to stitch a cover up over an insert.  Both were easier than I thought they would be, but pinning is not optional for this project.  You must do it.  There’s not another option.

Before I let you go, here’s a shout out to the fabulous Grandma Amy.  Isn’t the horse pillow just the most amazing thing ever?  This is one of many great pieces that she’s shared with our family.  A true artist, and the talent is evident in all of her work.  This is a portrait of a horse made on her sewing machine–yes, with thread, that’s it.  Pretty cool, huh?  I think that it’s a fun little addition to the crib, especially since the Aquatic Cowboy will be hanging over the crib.

So, with that done, I think that we’re ready to start pulling all of the pieces together–only one little dresser to finish putting together, and we’re down to the details.  You know, like, actually having the baby.  But that should be a snap, right?

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Crib bumpers, check

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crib bumpers, check at sugarandstitch.

meta

