My cup runneth over

March 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

The amazing and talented women in my family threw a shower for Baby Mac this weekend, and it was just amazing.  I’m even going as far as to say it could rival anything I’ve seen put together over at Hostess with the Mostess–which if you haven’t checked out, is full of great inspirational party ideas for just about any occasion.  Anyway, they took the whales and gathered his friends from under the sea and across the jungle to create the sweetest tables and filled them with an amazing menu.  Here’s a little glimpse of their creativity.

They made this too-cute pennant from all the fun fabrics in Baby Mac’s room, and then they stitched his name on it–so sweet.  I’m planning on hanging this over his closet doors in the nursery.  And, that’s a bookshelf that they filled with the sweetest children’s books.  They asked the guests to bring a book as part of their gifts to get our little guy’s library started.  Lots of special books came our way.

They had all sorts of great vintage toys throughout the room.  From blocks to stick horses to stuffed animals that I played with as a little girl.  There were mementos of both my and the husband’s childhood throughout the room.

Uber-talented Aunt Lisa made these cute animal cookies.  Frosted animal cookies have always been a favorite, but these went to a whole new level.  They were a huge hit, especially with some of the little ones who joined us.

Again with the sweet fabrics, this was a great way to make use of some of the scraps I had from his quilt.  Aunt Peggy and Aunt Kim asked that I save them some of the pieces I wasn’t able to use.  When I handed over my little bag of odds and ends, I never expected that something so darling would become of them.  And such a cute idea to put them in a plant!  These will also take up residence in his room.

Did I mention the food?  It was everywhere–and so great.  The Aunts got together and made all of my favorite cupcakes: carrot cake, German chocolate, and red velvet.  All of them were amazing–the carrot and red velvet both topped with a great cream cheese frosting.  I had to split them so that I could sample each one, and my coworkers had a great Monday devouring the left overs that I brought in.  The sweet little animal toppers were so colorful, and the cute wrappers really made a statement.

And, if you didn’t get a chance to sample all of them at the shower, they made these cute cupcakes-to-go baked in mason jars for the guests to take home.  So clever!  I know it seems like I’m gushing here, but I was so blown away by all of the cuteness and hard work.

Lessons learned:  It’s really touching to know that Baby Mac will have so many amazing people in his life, and that they’ve all gone to such effort to make his welcoming party so special.  A special thanks to the lovely ladies in Cheyenne, Oklahoma who sent the cutest blanket to Baby Mac.  I’m jealous of your mitered corners, and I love the fabric!  (They sent a sweet white and yellow light-weight blanket perfect for Texas summers!)  And for everyone who made the effort and made the day so bright and memorable, you’ve touched my heart.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to My cup runneth over

  • barbara says:

    What a lovely shower…so many pretty and clever decorations. Baby Ben is so fortunate to have so many loving grandparents and talented aunties ! I do hope he gets spoiled a bit !
    Wish we could have come. We enjoyed having your mother with us so many years. We aren’t quite over her leaving, yet. She is going to have a fun summer.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My cup runneth over at sugarandstitch.

meta

