Give a hoot

June 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

My friend is welcoming a beautiful little lady to the family later this summer, and I had a great time putting together a little owl-themed care package for Miss M.J.

She picked a sweet owl bedding, and once I found the too-cute Alexander Henry Spotted Owl fabric over at my favorite fabric store, I was full of inspiration!  I also managed to find this super soft and bright flannel from Valori Wells called Bliss Circles Ruby–also over at City Craft.  The two together conspired to create the cutest darn bibs and burb clothes ever.

I had a really fun time playing with applique on this project.  I started by cutting owls out of the Bliss flannel and lining up the circles so that they would make cute eyes.  Sew4Home has a great tutorial about fussy cuts here.  I kept the shape simple and also had fun with her initials on one of the bibs.  I just cut out the two pieces of fabric for the front and back of the bib, tracing an existing one I had with a disappearing pen; then, you’ll stitch them together right sides facing, leaving yourself an approximately two inch opening.  Stitch around the edges using a 1/4 in. seam allowance and then turn right-side out through the opening.  I left my opening at the top where I then applied my binding from a pre-packaged binding.  Just fold it over following the directions and add a little stitch all the way to the ends, knotting the ends of the strings simply.  Then I ran a 1/8 stitch around the outer edge of the entire bib once I had them pressed and the binding applied.  Ta-da!

Then I worked on a set of matching burp clothes like the ones I did over here, except with a little embellishment on them.  I used some satin ribbon on the end of one, and this cute owl applique on the bottom of some white flannel that I pieced to the Bliss panel.

I had some cute Spotted Owl left, so I cut out the little characters and came up with some fun owl-inspired puns to put together a set of thank you notes for the mom-to-be.  These were done just like my whale cards that I did for King Baby’s shower, except I got to use all the cute girly colors that I had left from my card stock stash!

I also did a cute blanket out of flannel and a soft chenille.  Again, I appliqued the initials out of the Bliss fabric and an owl onto a square of the flannel and then just ran a simple blanket binding around the edges.  It was much the same technique that I used to make the cradle blanket for Baby Mac.

And there you have it.  A sweet owl set for baby girl!  We can’t wait to meet her, but we sure do hope she hangs in there a few more weeks.  Lessons learned:  You know those really nice clear plastic bags that things like sheets, drapes, pillow cases, etc. come in?  They usually have zippers, or snaps on them, and sometimes even a handle?  Save them!  I have started a stash of them, and they are perfect when it comes to gifts like this–you can recycle those bags to hold all of your handmade lovey goodies in a compact, clean case!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Give a hoot at sugarandstitch.

meta

