The elephant on my bib

July 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

So, one of the half-dozen or so of my girlfriends who is pregnant thought she was having a boy.  We have since learned that baby will be a Miss instead of a Mister, but in that two-week window, I got really excited and made her a gift for the little tyke.

This is really more about how to use the Internets than how to make this bib–I just did a quick google search for elephant clip art to find a shape for the applique, and then I freehanded a piece of white flannel to match.  You could print out said clip art image and use it as a pattern to cut around if you need to, depending on how accurate you want to be and how complicated the shape is.  Then,  you’ll just adjust your stitch to be a zig zag and reduce the stitch length down to a .5 or even lower depending on what you think looks best and run your needle along the very edge of the elephant shape.  The zig zag stitch will ensure that you’re catching both the applique and the backing.  I wanted the ear to be of the backing fabric, so I put that on the flannel piece first, and then the flannel onto the backing piece. I then made the bib the same way that I made the ones I told you about over here.

I wanted to do a whole set, so I made a burb cloth like these out of the same cute blue polka dot fabric, and a fun tie onesie.  In no way did I come up with the tie idea; I’ve seen it in a few places online, it’s just a simple little project, especially if you’re a novice with applique like me.  It’s just two shapes, and you can just cut them down until you like the proportions and how they fit on the  piece as a whole.

Lessons learned: Maybe wait until the official 20-week sonogram before you paint the room.  Luckily, this can make some other little guy happy this fall!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The elephant on my bib at sugarandstitch.

meta

