Time for a tummy time mat

July 6, 2011 § 3 Comments

So many babies, and so little time!  But, I’m determined to make cute things for each and every one of them!  The latest is for a little lady who is on her way in September.

Grandma Amy was so sweet to give Ben a special Tummy Time mini-quilt that we are getting a lot of use out of these days, so I put the inspiration to good use and busted out some of my favorite fabric from Anna Maria Horner.  I love the bright colors, and hope it helps little Peggy Grace enjoy her tummy time–anything that helps, right?

And, I got to check out some of the fancy stitches that my new machine does.  Check out these sweet flowers!  I used them to go around the inside of the middle square–I stitched in the ditch for the rest of the quilting to give it a good hold, but wanted to do something a little special in the middle.

And, with each project, I feel like my corners get better and better!  Hallelujah!  I used a pre-made pink binding for the edge of this quilt, which really helped me get nice crisp edges.  I secured it down with another “fancy” stitch that I think added just that extra hint of girly.  You can also see here where I got to put some of my fabulous yellow ribbon to good use on the outer sides of the mat.  Love that stuff.

Because no baby gift is complete with out some cute burp cloths and a sweet onesie, I also made these little cuties to go with the mat.  I made these a little differently because they’re out of a different kind of diaper, but I’ll have to explain that on another day.  In the meantime, I have a post office to get to!  These little pretties aren’t walking themselves to that baby.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Time for a tummy time mat

  • Cristin says:

    I just opened your gift and I have to tell you it is so precious I cried. I know she will enjoy the tummy time mat for a long time and I will save it for her to have when she is grown. You’re so sweet for thinking of her and I’ll be sure to post pictures of her in her cute onesies on her mat.
    Lots of Love,
    Cristin, Ryan, & David

  • Beth says:

    Your tummy mat is so cute, and I love the way you have used the decorative stitching. I have been wondering how I can put some of my stitches to use, and now you have given me some wonderful ideas. Thank you!

    • Thanks, Beth! 🙂 Some of those decorative stitches can take a while to place, so it’s fun to use them in places where they’ll stand out and not take a whole day to apply. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time for a tummy time mat at sugarandstitch.

meta

