Quilt and pillow for little miss

August 8, 2011 § 3 Comments

I think I may have mentioned that there are a few babies on the way in my circle of friends.  And by a few, I mean six.  Yes, I said six.  That’s a lot of projects, folks.  But nothing inspires a project like a sweet little babe on the way, and this quilt and pillow were made for a little lady who is set to make her debut September 1 (although my money is on August 23rd!).

I think I may have seen a pillow like this one when I was out and about…perhaps Anthropologie?…but I decided I could recreate something along these lines by cutting petals of increasing size and appliqueing them onto a pillow top.  Then I used a trusty bowl to outline petal lines on the pillow, which I stitched in red thread.

The quilt itself is another trusty Moda Bake Shop pattern.  I cheated a little and didn’t use the same fabric for the four inner diagonal squares on the pieced squares.  Instead I alternated two and two so that I could use four different fabrics on the pieced squares.  This was really just because I had such a hard time focusing on so few fabrics!

You see, I recently came into the jackpot of vintage fabrics from Grandma Amy.  They’ve been moving, and she has been stashing away fabrics since the 60’s and they needed a good home.  Add that to the scraps of lovelies that I can’t seem to ever part with, and you have a great combination of vintage and modern fabrics in this yellow, orange, and pink layout.  Also, I’ve sorta, kinda figured out how to use the alphabet key on the Bernina!  Cute, huh?

And, I’m loving all the new fancy stitches that I’m figuring out how to apply from the machine.  I ran this beauty around the binding to give it a little flair since it was prepackaged binding.  I’m becoming a big fan of packaged binding these days since by the time I get to that step, the last thing I want to do is piece it together–I’m almost done!

I love the sense of accomplishment that comes with finishing a quilt.  I have another new one to share with you soon, but in the meantime, I’m going to bask in the glory of having number two down…only four more to go!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Quilt and pillow for little miss

  • Beth says:

    What a beautiful quilt. I love the colors, and am jealous of your stash inheritance. I love to get fabrics ( even scraps) from other people and play with the colors. A few years ago I bought several bags of scraps at a fair from the Amish, and just loved using them. It really helped me because a lot of the patterns I would not have chosen on my own. You and your Grandmother both have very good taste in fabrics!

    • How fun! I’ll have to post pics soon of all the crazy, lovely fabrics that I was able to bring home. It’s really made my projects more fun lately being able to combine the vintage and modern fabrics. We actually had them listed on craigslist in the garage sale description, and grandma was able to sell some of them that way, too. I’m going to have to get better at checking local listings to see when vintage fabrics go up for sale!

  • […] little lady from this post was celebrated with a shower a few weeks back that we had a great time putting together.  Her […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quilt and pillow for little miss at sugarandstitch.

meta

