A garden party baby shower

August 25, 2011 § 2 Comments

The little lady from this post was celebrated with a shower a few weeks back that we had a great time putting together.  Her bedroom has lots of flowers in the bedding, so we went with a garden party theme, and it snowballed from there!  The celebration brunch featured tons of great food, pretty flowers, paper lanterns, pinwheels, lots of pink, mimosas, and some fun treats for guests to take home.  Keeping it simple was really not in the cards, and we may have gone a little overboard, but it was a great time, and hopefully you’ll find some inspiration in here for your next shindig.

We started with the table, and some fun pink, white, and green fabrics and napkins to create lots of soft, colorful layers.  Two nice, tall vases filled with daisies and mums were joined by some pinwheels that I picked up at Hobby Lobby.  The chocolate cake took center stage, and we put all the brunch goodies around the table and labeled them with fun, pink sparkly labels in floral photo holders.

A great way to use my scraps from the quilt, I cut strips of the fabrics from the quilt and used them to dress up the pinwheels in the floral arrangements by tying the strips around the top of the stem.  I cut them with pinking shears.  I used about four or five 1 inch tall strips, measuring about 6 to 8 inches long on each pinwheel.  You can also see where I used them on the metal sign above to soften up the welcome plaque.  If it was sitting still, I probably tied some of these around them–on the basket handles, on the treat sacks, on the flowers…

My favorite chocolate cake from the amazing Barefoot Contessa made an appearance.  I embellished it a bit with these little ducks that I cut out from candy coating left over from the cake pops.  Oh yes, you read correct, there were cake pops!  And, since I had the vanilla left over, I spread it thin on a sheet of wax paper and let it set in the freezer for a bit and then cut out these little guys to swim around the bottom of the cake.  I used a small rubber duck metal cookie cutter to do the handy work.  This cake is always a hit.  And why wouldn’t it be? It has a pound of butter and an amazing amount of grated chocolate in it.

And here they are–cake pops!  I used the recipe from Bakerella, but I made the balls ahead of time, so they set up really well in my freezer.  I had them on the sticks and on cookie sheets all frozen before I melted the candy coatings.  The coatings were a bit of a mess, so I had to make these pretty with extra sprinkle and drizzle.  Crazy enough, I think they turned out better for it!  Cellophane bags and more fabric scraps used for ties, and these little tasty treats found homes in flower pots throughout the party.  On the food table, by the guest book, you name it!  We made sure everyone went home with a couple as a favor.

And speaking of to-go, little jars of sweet treats are my new favorite ever since my aunts used them for Baby Mac’s shower.  I decided to try something quick and easy, a recipe from my grandmother called EZ Lemon Cheesecake, that set up beautifully in these little jars.  These are the 4 oz size, and I just made a quick label for the tops and set them in a basket at the front.  These little pies-to-go set up in the fridge overnight and were ready for guests to take home the next day.  More on that recipe soon.

The brunch went down as a success, and I topped it off with one last scrap-busting project.  Little “Thanks a Bunch” fabric cards to send home with Momma-To-Be.  A big shout out to the Aunt-To-Be and my mom who helped me get it all put together.  The support system was in full effect and helped me let the creativity flow.  More fun inspirationals to come from this one!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A garden party baby shower

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A garden party baby shower at sugarandstitch.

meta

