To-go favor: dirt dessert

September 20, 2011 § 1 Comment

So for the Frogs and Snails and Puppy Dog Tails Shower we wanted to have an easy take-home favor to go with the theme, and what says “little boy” more than dirt?  I remembered the “dirt” desserts from my youth and recreated them in jars for take-home favors.

I started with two Jello Temptation mixes to use as my main guide for the jello and mouse components, and then I picked up some chocolate cookies with vanilla creme, some cool whip, and a package of gummy worms, along with two dozen 6 oz. jars.

I started by crushing the cookies to form a base in each jar.  I added some melted butter to the crushed cookie and placed it in the bottom, and then began layering the jello and mouse, finishing with a dollop of whipped topping.

I then went back and added a spoonful of crushed cookie and placed a gummy worm on top to give it that extra boy feel.  I cut out the cute Thank You 2 inch round labels from Frills Market, and placed one on the top of each metal jar with a little bit of scrapbooking tape.

I placed the jars in the fridge over night to let them set up, and then I set them up at the shower in baskets by the guest book for folks to grab on the way out.  They were an easy and tasty to-go treat.  No one’s every enjoyed eating dirt more!

§ One Response to To-go favor: dirt dessert

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To-go favor: dirt dessert at sugarandstitch.

meta

